Call for nominations: UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2023

UNESCO invites Member States to nominate candidates for UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2023, in consultation with their National Commissions, as well as international and regional professional non-governmental organizations in the field of journalism and press freedom.


20 December 2022

Last update: 23 January 2023

This Prize is awarded each year to a person, organization or institution that has made a notable contribution to the defense and/or promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, particularly if risks were involved. The UNESCO/ Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize was established in 1997 by UNESCO’s Executive Board in Memory of Guillermo Cano, a Colombian journalist who died in the exercise of his profession.

The annual global award ceremony takes place on World Press Freedom Day on 3 May, with the winner receiving a monetary prize of US$ 25,000.

In 2023, World Press Freedom Day will be held at the United Nations Headquarters in New York.

The Prize is supported by the Guillermo Cano Isaza Foundation (Colombia), the Helsingin Sanomat Foundation (Finland), the Namibia Media Trust (Namibia), The Thomson Reuters Foundation (The United Kingdom) and Democracy & Media Foundation Stichting Democratie & Media (The Netherlands).

How to submit your nomination

The nomination form should be submitted in English or in French, by 15 February 2023 by post or by e-mail to:

  • Secretariat of the UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize
    Freedom of Expression and Safety of Journalists Section
    7, Place de Fontenoy
    75352 Paris cedex 07, France

For more information, please consult the rules of the Prize.